Contact Info

Conveniently Located among Cummins Southern Indiana Facilities

Phone: (812) 378-5833


Paths to Quality

Research shows that high quality early learning experiences prepare children for future success in school, work and life. From birth through age 3 is the most important time for growth of the human brain. A child’s brain develops in response to the child’s experiences by building neurological networks in reaction to the environment. Paths To Quality is a quality rating system exclusive to Indiana and was invented by Purdue University with the help and support of many other organizations and stakeholders. Cummins Child Development Center was accredited by Paths to Quality Level 4, the highest rate on March 24, 2010 and again March 12, 2012.

Nationally, at least 14 states have implemented statewide Quality Rating Systems to address the importance of early learning. Quality Rating Systems are a vital informational tool for parents of young children to use as they make decisions about what early care settings are best for their family. Paths To Quality is an optional accreditation and was designed to do the following: Increase the quality of care for all children, provide parents with a method to make informed child care choices, support professional development activities of child care providers and recognize and reward providers who demonstrate commitment to continuous quality improvement of their early learning programs.

The standards for Paths to QUALITY are consistent but tailored for family child care homes and for licensed centers and unlicensed registered ministries. Paths to QUALITY is a system where each level builds on the foundation of the previous one, resulting in significant quality improvements at each stage and resulting in national accreditation at the highest level. The system validates programs and providers for ongoing efforts to achieve higher standards of quality and provides incentives and awards for success. The four levels address:

  • Level One: Health and safety needs of children met.
  • Level Two: Environment supports children’s learning.
  • Level Three: Planned curriculum guides child development and school readiness.
  • Level Four: National accreditation (the highest indicator of quality) is achieved.